Wedding Frenzy

Prior to getting engaged I started to meet with vendors to get an idea of how much this whole fiasco was going to cost me. As with any normal person’s reaction, the vendors were confused as to why I didn’t have a ring on my finger and was already talking to them about details without having a wedding date set –  mind you they were all perfectly polite about it. Yes, this was a bizarre thing to do on my part but I knew that it was just a matter of time before I got engaged (the ring was being custom-made), so I figured I’d get a head start on the planning process as my now fiance and I didn’t want a long engagement.

I’m honestly glad that I did what I did, when I did, because I was able to have a fairly short 8 month engagement without being rushed. Prior to getting engaged I had already picked out my photographer, videographer, florist and cake baker, so I literally had them all on hold until Mr. D popped the question. A few days after a totally unexpected  perfect proposal, I booked all of the vendors mentioned above, bought the most stunning wedding gown and was left with the daunting tasking of finding a venue. Now let me tell you, finding a venue was the most obnoxious process ever! I didn’t feel right paying such an obscene amount of money for an OK venue; that’s why it took me 4 months to find the perfect location. As soon as I walked into the Pinnacle Golf Club in Grove City, Ohio, I fell in love and knew it was the one for me.

Now it’s October, I’m 5 months away from the big day and I have everything major booked (except for a band). Since I checked off most of the necessary wedding list tasks early on, I’m now in a state of limbo. I still have a few unchecked items to keep me going but knowing me, they’ll all be complete next month.

Leave a Reply

